During the conference various prizes will be awarded. The winners of the prizes will be announced during the plenary session of the NAC. More details about the awards and award ceremonies are given below.

Vening Meinesz Prize

Every other year at NAC, NWO awards the Vening Meinesz Prize. This personal award is intended for early-career researchers in Earth Sciences. The award is named in honour of Prof. Dr Felix Vening Meinesz (1887-1966), one of the founders of Dutch Earth Sciences and of the Dutch Research Council (NWO). He became well-known for his research into gravity, for which undertook a dozen scientific expeditions on board submarines of the Royal Netherlands Navy. NWO awards the prize biennially from his financial legacy, aiming to stimulate promising earth scientists. The next Vening Meinesz Prize will be awarded in 2020. Read more about this award at the NWO website (in Dutch).

Poster prize

Most presentations at NAC will be in the format of a poster presentation, like on many of the international conferences in Earth Sciences. The poster prize aims to award early-career researchers (MSc, PhD, Postdoc) that excel in presenting their scientific work via this presentation format. The top-three posters will be awarded € 250 (first place), € 150 (second place) and € 100 (third place). The selection of the top-three will be performed by a dedicated poster jury, comprising the chair and another member of the Program Committee and a representative of the conference organisers. For competing in the poster prize you will need to sign up your poster in advance of the conference. Furthermore, it is required that you as first author are present at the closing ceremony on Friday. Read more about the assessment criteria and how to sign up for the poster prize.

Photo competition

The photo competition has been a recurring event at the NAC conferences. Pre-registered conference participants can take part in this competition by submitting one original photo on any theme related to Earth Sciences (see also the terms and conditions). The pre-selection phase of the competition during the two months leading up to the conference, and is open for submissions from 2 December to 9 February. Please note that you must be registered for the conference before 9 February in order to take part in the contest. Submitted photos will be judged first by an expert jury to select a top-10. These ten images are printed in large format and will be prominently exhibited at the conference venue. The overall winner will be selected by public vote. The winning photo will be featured in the Geo.Brief magazine of the KNGMG and the winner will receive a free registration for next year’s NAC.

Prizes by other organisations:
NJG publication award

Every two years the Editorial Board of the Netherlands Journal of Geosciences presents the Publication Award, recognizing the best NJG paper first-authored by a young and promising scientist. Besides the award document the award includes a book voucher and the author is offered publication space in the Geo.Brief magazine of the KNGMG. 


The Escher Prize (in Dutch: Escherprijs) was established in 1994 and was named in honour of the Leiden professor in ‘Algemene Geologie’ Prof. Dr B.G. Escher (1885-1967). The prize is awarded annually by an expert jury from the KNGMG to the author(s) of the best or most original thesis in (applied) Earth Sciences in the broadest sense of the word.


The Jelgersma Prize (in Dutch: Jelgersmaprijs) was established in 2016 and was named in honour of dr. Saskia (Kiek) Jelgersma (1929-2012). The prize is awarded annually by the KNGMG to the author(s) of the best or most original Bachelor thesis in (applied) Earth Sciences in the broadest sense of the word. With this the KNGMG puts emphasis on the importance of the Bachelor thesis as the first piece of real science by students.