08 Apr - 09 Apr Online

NAC 2021

The NAC (Nederlands Aardwetenschappelijk Congres) conferences bring together all fields of research within the Earth Sciences.

NAC 2021 will be held Online on 08 April 2021 & 09 April 2021.

About NAC 2021

The NAC conferences (Nederlands Aardwetenschappelijk Congres) bring together all fields of research within the Earth Sciences. The NAC conferences aim to provide a true interdisciplinary forum for discussion and for young researchers to present their results in a way that is accessible to a broad audience. NAC 2021 will be organised and sponsored by the Domain Science of the Dutch Research Council NWO.

This is the 17th time the NAC is being organised.​ In 1992 NAC was founded by KNAW, KNGMG and NWO.  

NAC goes digital!
NWO is complying with the measures announced by the Dutch government to prevent any further spread of Covid-19. As these measures make a normal NAC edition impossible we will make the most of the technological possibilities to create a great online NAC 2021! More information will follow soon on this website.


The Programme Committee of NAC 2021 is tasked with compiling a broadly appealing programme. Contributions will be scheduled as oral presentations that take place in parallel sessions spread over the two days of the congress. In addition there will be dedicated poster sessions each day, with ample time during the programme for visiting the posters.


Based on the keywords selected during submission of abstracts (see list below), the total number of abstracts and the topics submitted, the Programme Committee will arrange the abstracts into broader overarching parallel sessions. The themes of these parallel sessions will e.g. focus on specific or timely issues in the field of Earth Sciences, or they can aggregate contributions with a methodological or topical similarity. The committee will then decide if an abstract is accepted as an oral or poster presentation within one of those sessions. As the conference will be an interdisciplinary meeting ground for geoscientists, this procedure aims at encouraging researchers from all fields in Earth Sciences to connect, interact and present their progress of research. 

How to submit an abstract

You will have to register first. Please select the option ‘yes’ under ‘submit abstract’. You will receive a unique link by email after you have completed the registration process. This link can be used to login and submit your abstract. Abstracts (max. 250 words) can be submitted not later than Wednesday 27 January 2021, 23:59 h CET. Please note that the official language of the conference and for submitting abstracts and giving oral and poster presentations will be English. 


The Programme Committee will define the themes of the parallel sessions and compile the conference programme based on the abstracts received before Wednesday 27 January 2021, 23:59 h CET. From all received abstracts, a selection of authors will be invited to give an oral presentation. By default, authors of the other abstracts will be offered the option of a poster presentation. In February 2021 the final program will be announced on the website and applicants will receive an invitation with instructions for preparing their online oral or poster presentations.

Instructions for oral presentations

Oral presentations are scheduled in parallel sessions spread over the two days of the congress. Authors are allotted 15 minutes for their presentation, including time for questions and discussion. More details about the digital format for the presentations will follow upon selection.

Instructions for scientific poster design

At the NAC you will have an excellent opportunity to practise your academic skills, such as giving poster presentations and poster pitches.

Your poster will be visible in an online format. More details about the digital format for the presentations will follow upon selection. This year we will ask you to submit your poster prior to the conference. We want to receive a colour image formatted as .jpg or .png with a maximum of 10Mb, the orientation must be portrait. A poster prize will be awarded to the three best posters made by early-career scientists.

Abstract keywords

We welcome contributions from all branches of the Earth Sciences. Abstracts can be submitted using one or two the following keywords:


During the conference various prizes will be awarded. More information will follow soon.









Keynote speakers

We are honoured to announce that the following renowned speakers have confirmed their contribution to NAC 2021.

Dr. Anne Pluymakers

Dr. Anne Pluymakers

TU Delft

Assistant Professor in Experimental Fluid-Rock Interaction in the Department of Geoscience and Engineering at TU Delft. Specialized in experimental rock mechanics, specifically fluid-rock interaction and effects on subsurface energy and storage.

Dr. Sjoerd Groeskamp

Dr. Sjoerd Groeskamp


Researcher at NIOZ department of Ocean System. Studies ocean water masses and mixing processes that determine our climate and the state of the ocean. Concerned about climate change. Mostly lived on islands: Tasmania, Manhattan, “Sydney Australia” and Texel.

Dr. Tim van Emmerik

Dr. Tim van Emmerik

Wageningen University & Research

Assistant Professor Hydrologic Sensing at Wageningen University. Works on developing river plastic monitoring methods and strategies in Europe, Asia and Africa. Passionate about data collection in challenging places.

Prof. Anne Schulp

Prof. Anne Schulp

Utrecht University, Naturalis

Professor in Vertebrate Paleontology in the Department of Earth Sciences. Studied marine reptiles (mosasaurs) from the Maastricht Formation and works at the Naturalis Biodiversity Centre with a special interest in reptiles from the Age of Dinosaurs.


This section will be ready at a later stage.


A small fee of € 15,- will be charged to attend NAC 2021. It is possible to pay by iDEAL.

  • 2 days

Attend NAC 2021 and register now!

The registration period is from 17 December 2020 until 25 March 2021.


Photo competition

At NAC there will be a photo competition. Every participant in NAC 2021 can submit one photo on any theme related to the broad field of earth sciences. To submit a photo for the competition, one must be registered for NAC 2021 (see terms and conditions). Submitted photos will be exhibited at the conference.

The photos will be shown at a later stage.


We would like to thank our exhibitors for their dedication and support to NAC 2021. They have made this event possible.

This section will be ready at a later stage.